Dolphins' McDaniel took exception to peculiar, normally routine play in loss to Bills
Briefly

Dolphins' McDaniel took exception to peculiar, normally routine play in loss to Bills
"After the Dolphins scored a touchdown to tie the game, 14-14, the Bills were merely lining up for a kneeldown in the final seconds before halftime. Buffalo quarterback Josh Allen mishandled the snap for a fumble. He started to take the snap with his right knee on the ground, fumbled as he lifted that knee and then quickly put his left knee down and back up as he began to pick up the loose ball."
"It may have been inconsequential, even if it were ruled a fumble and the Dolphins recovered, because time expired on the play after there were only two seconds left in the first half to start the down. But if the whistles weren't blown and the referee didn't catch the ball as Allen tossed it backward to him, Jones might've had a chance to return the fumble for a touchdown."
""I saw it. I knew what happened," McDaniel said in a Friday web conference with reporters following Thursday night's 31-21 defeat in Orchard Park. "I also saw the whistle blow and I saw them run in, so then I ran in to prepare for the second half knowing that he just fumbled - or I thought they did at least.""
Miami Dolphins coach Mike McDaniel questioned the officials' handling of the final play of the first half after Buffalo quarterback Josh Allen mishandled a snap. Allen appeared to fumble while lifting his right knee, then briefly put his left knee down and back up before recovering the ball and tossing it toward the head referee as whistles blew. Dolphins defenders Zach Sieler and Jack Jones were tracking the play and could have produced a return if the ball remained live. Time expired with two seconds left, possibly making the ruling inconsequential, and the Dolphins plan to contact the league.
Read at Sun Sentinel
Unable to calculate read time
[
|
]