'A scandal' - was Leeds penalty correct and what does law say?
Briefly

In a closely contested Premier League match, Leeds secured a 1-0 victory over Everton, but the game was overshadowed by a contentious penalty decision awarded by referee Chris Kavanagh. The penalty stemmed from defender James Tarkowski's attempt to block a strike, though his arm was held tightly to his body. This raised questions regarding the application of handball rules, particularly the interpretation of 'unnaturally bigger' in relation to a player's movement. Confusion continues as recent law changes aimed to ease strict interpretations, yet debate remains rampant.
Referee Chris Kavanagh paused for a moment before pointing to the spot, with the Toffees players incensed. Tarkowski questioned, 'if my arm is by my side is it a penalty?' and said he couldn't understand the decision.
According to Law 12, an infringement occurs when a player touches the ball with their hand/arm when it has made their body unnaturally bigger, a definition that can seem ambiguous in practice.
Before last season, the handball law was relaxed, leading players to be told they do not have to keep their arms rigidly by their sides or behind their backs, raising further confusion.
Manager David Moyes described the decision to award the penalty as 'wrong', echoing Tarkowski's sentiments, highlighting the ongoing frustration surrounding handball rulings in the Premier League.
Read at www.bbc.com
[
|
]