U-M's Barham flagged for head-butting official
Briefly

U-M's Barham flagged for head-butting official
"ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- Michigan linebacker Jaishawn Barham was flagged for heat-butting an official Saturday during the first quarter against Ohio State - but he was not ejected. The unsportsmanlike penalty happened after the Wolverines forced a third-and-goal from the 5-yard line. Barham was speaking to the official when he lowered his helmet into the official's nose. The penalty gave Ohio State an automatic first down at the Michigan 2-yard line. But the Wolverines still forced the Buckeyes into settling for a field goal. According to the NCAA rulebook, "intentionally contacting an official" results in an "automatic ejection.""
"The penalty gave Ohio State an automatic first down at the Michigan 2-yard line. But the Wolverines still forced the Buckeyes into settling for a field goal."
Michigan linebacker Jaishawn Barham was flagged for lowering his helmet into an official's face during the first quarter against Ohio State but was not ejected. The unsportsmanlike conduct penalty occurred after the Wolverines forced a third-and-goal from the 5-yard line while Barham was speaking to the official. The contact was described as the helmet touching the official's nose. The penalty awarded Ohio State an automatic first down at the Michigan 2-yard line. Michigan subsequently forced Ohio State to settle for a field goal. The NCAA rulebook states that intentionally contacting an official triggers an automatic ejection.
Read at ESPN.com
Unable to calculate read time
[
|
]