The Miami Marlins lost their eighth consecutive game against the Twins, with a controversial call leading to the loss. In the sixth inning, Kyle Stowers' potential tying hit was nullified when the ball struck umpire Emil Jimenez. According to MLB Rule 5.06(c)(6), a fair ball hitting an infield umpire is ruled a dead ball. Umpire James Hoye stated that the rule leaves no grey area and explained the situation. Marlins manager Clayton McCullough acknowledged the unfortunate nature of the incident but affirmed that the rule needed to be enforced.
"I haven't seen that kind of play in a long time - probably 15 years. The ball went right at [Jimenez's] feet," home plate umpire/crew chief James Hoye said. "It was one of those 'Which way do you go?' moments. He tried to get out of the way, but it hit him on the side of the foot."
By rule, if a ball hits an umpire before it passes any infielder, the ball is dead," Hoye explained. "Runners only advance if they're forced. So, in this case, Sánchez had to go back to second, and the batter-runner is awarded first base."
Hoye said, "There's no room for interpretation," and added, "[Marlins' manager Clayton McCullough] came out and said, 'It's kind of a crappy play.' and I said, 'I agree.' But that's the rule, and we have to enforce it."
McCullough said of the call afterward: "It's written that way to make things clean and once it happens, then that's the decision. It's just unfortunate [the ball] ended up clipping him."
Collection
[
|
...
]